Return to Headlines

Wyandanch School District celebrates SCOPE Service Awards

On March 18, during the SCOPE 23rd Annual School District Awards dinner, Board of Education Trustee Kathy Corbin was a recipient of the School Board Service award in recognition to her dedication and commitment to the scholars of the Wyandanch School District. Kelly Ureña was a recipient of the Community Service Award and Vickie Johnson was a recipient of the Support Staff Service Award.

Ms. Corbin joined the school district in 1989 as a bus driver and shortly thereafter became the district’s supervisor of transportation until she retired in August 2015. In 2023, she was elected to serve as a Board of Education Trustee. As a Board Trustee, Ms. Corbin is committed to ensuring that every child in the district achieves academic success.

Ms. Ureña is an active community member with a history of advocacy and equity in healthcare and education. She channels her passion to fulfill her purpose through social work. She is known for her work in strengthening families, communities and building partnerships.

Ms. Johnson joined the Wyandanch School District in 2021. From conducting thorough patrols to monitoring surveillance systems, she goes above and beyond to maintain a safe and secure environment for the scholars, staff and visitors.

“We congratulate Board Trustee Kathy Corbin, Kelly Ureña and Vickie Johnson on their well-deserved recognitions and thank them for their service to our school district and their commitment to our scholars and community,” said Interim Superintendent of Schools Mrs. Arlise Carson. 

Wyandanch School District celebrates SCOPE Service Awards